Special Committee on Research and Innovation

AASHTO Liaison
Keith Platte, P.E., Associate Program Director, Project Delivery

Acronyms and Abbreviations

Below is a glossary of acronyms and abbreviations for transportation research programs and organization.​

AASHO* American Association of State Highway Officials*
AASHTO American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
ACRP Airport Cooperative Research Program
AMRL AASHTO Materials Reference Library
CCRL Cement and Concrete Reference Library
CTBSSP Commercial Truck and Bus Safety Synthesis Program
CUTC Council of University Transportation Centers
FHWA Federal Highway Administration
HITEC Highway Innovative Technology Evaluation Center
HMCRP Hazardous Materials Cooperative Research Program
IDEA Ideas Deserving Exploratory Analysis
LTAP Local Technical Assistance Program
LTPP Long-Term Pavement Performance Program
NCFRP National Cooperative Freight Research Program
NCHRP National Cooperative Highway Research Program
NTPEP National Transportation Product Evaluation Program
RAC Research Advisory Committee
R&I Special Committee on Research and Innovation (formerly known as the Subcommittee on Research or “SCOR”)
RiP Research in Progress Database
RITA Research and Innovative Technology Administration
SAFETEA-LU Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (2005)
SCOH Standing Committee on Highways
SCOR** Standing Committee on Research** now known as the Special Committee on Research and Innovation (R&I)
SHRP-2 Strategic Highway Research Program
SPR State Planning and Research Program
STEP FHWA’s Surface Transportation Environment and Planning Cooperative Research Program
TCRP Transit Cooperative Research Program
TFHRC Turner Fairbank Highway Research Center
TIG Technology Implementation Group
TPF Transportation Pooled Fund program
TRB Transportation Research Board
TRID Transport Research International Documentation
TRIS Transportation Research Information Services
U.S. DOT United States Department of Transportation
UTC University Transportation Centers

*Former name of AASHTO until 1973.

**Former name of the Special Committee on Research and Innovation (R&I) until 2017.